Kale and Artichoke Dip   Leave a comment

20121222-214302.jpg

While preparing for a party I realized that one of my dips needed to be bean free, for variety’s sake. After doing some online sleuthing I decided to go with a spinach and artichoke dip. I didn’t have spinach, but did have this great kale from Horny Toad Farm. This dip came out great. I haven’t had “spin dip” in years and this did not disappoint.

My template for this dip came from the recipe at Kid Tested Firefighter Approved for vegan spinach and artichoke dip.

Food:
2 c chopped kale, leaves only
1/4 c red wine vinegar
1.5 tbs agave nectar
3/4 c raw, unsoaked cashews
3/4 c unsweetened hemp milk
3 tbs lemon juice
2 – 4 medium/small cloves roasted garlic
3/4 tsp dry mustard
8 ounces artichoke, cut into small pieces (about one-two square centimeters)
Salt and pepper to taste

Tools:
Small, spill-proof Rubbermaid container
Food processor
Pyrex oven safe dish

Prep:
The night before, clean and chop the kale. Add it to the Rubbermaid with the vinegar and agave nectar. Put the top on and shake it around. Shake around a few more times before you go to bed. When you get up in the morning shake it again. This might seem tedious, but it only takes ten seconds per shake. Do it while you’re figuring which snack you went to the fridge for.

Action:
Preheat oven to 425F. Plug in the food processor. Add all ingredients except kale and artichoke. Blend until it’s good and smooth, I gave mine a few minutes. Take the kale from the fridge, squeeze the vinegar out of it, and add it to one side of the food processor. Add artichokes to the opposite side. Pulse 25 to 40 times. Add to oven safe dish and cook for 25 minutes.

Before putting the dip in the oven, but after pulsing I found that the dip was very cold as a result of the artichoke being thawed-ish. It was very good. Really zippy. But I put it in the oven to see if it would change the texture. I’m not sure if it did. I think it just tasted warmer, but I plan to do an experiment next time I make this, and will update with the results.

I thought this dip tasted best with tortilla chips, but celery and pretzels were good, too.

Posted December 23, 2012 by deeats in Dips

Tagged with , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

